Sharing

I am the oldest of the four children in my family. At an early age I learned to share… and share…. and share, and that was just with my siblings. When I got to kindergarten I learned to share some more. I didn’t always like to share, but I eventually understood why sharing was necessary and I adopted sharing as a major part of my life plan. I didn’t call it a life plan at the time. I’m not sure I called it anything. I just knew it made me feel good to share.

These days I share a lot of resources with other teachers. My friend and colleague Phil Panaritis, Teaching American History Grants Project Director in the Bronx, maintains a huge email list of teachers, principals and others that he uses to fertilize our minds with articles, advisories, event notification and links to history and/or science websites. It is not uncommon to get as many as two dozen emails from Phil a day, all of them interesting or useful to sat least some of the people on that huge email list. Phil likes to share. Some of the people on that list send links to Phil for him to distribute. They like to share. In telling his email list about this blog Phil wrote that I send “more interesting stuff to the TAH Grant dist list for sharing with you than any other 17 people combined.”

Like I said, sharing makes me happy.

I even like to share my happiness. I’d like you to feel the joy of sharing, too. I’m sure you can think of things to share and ways to share them. But if you can’t, I’m going to make it easy for you. Starting with this post, and on every future post that I remember to paste the code into, you’ll see a little button with an orange plus sign. Click on it and you’ll be able to share these posts in a whole bunch of ways. I realize that not all my posts will be gems, this one for example fails the gem test, but feel free to use this to experience the joy of sharing as often as you want no matter the quality of the post. Its not what you share, its just that you share that counts.

Everyone should be able to feel good this easily:

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to Sharing

  1. linda704 says:

    You are a good sharer Deven with all the links you share on Twitter and in diigo, too!

  2. johnslat says:

    Thanks for sharing. One thing I’ve never been able to understand is why some (more than a few) teachers I’ve had as colleagues over the years aren’t into sharing. When I create materials, I always make them available to any other teachers instructing the same classes. If they don’t want to use them, that’s fine, but most often there are few non-takers (Hey, I make excellent materials.) But why in heaven’s name would teachers “hoard” their stuff? I guess it may all go back (as it seems to have done in your case, Deven) to upbringing. If you’re given the example of sharing when you’re young, it’s probably a lot more likely that you’ll become a sharer when you grow up. And the joy of sharing is, I think, one of the BIGGEST reasons why we become teachers: to share what we know.

Leave a Reply

